Dear Reader,
With inescapable cheers, I would be possessed indeed with unequable happiness in telling you that, recently, I had the fortune of reading ‘Frankenstein’, the 1818 gothic novel by Mary Shelley; October 6th, 2016 – October 10th, 2016. Wishing to share with you the joy I, now, possess, I endeavour to share the “fourteen favourites” from the CLASSIC.
Here you are:

1.)
“…as the phenomena of the heavenly bodies are in those undiscovered solitudes.”
>> page #004/202

2.)
“I shall commit my thoughts to paper, it is true; but that is a poor medium for the communication of feeling.”
>> page #007/202

3.)
“…he may suffer misery and be overwhelmed by disappointments, yet, when he has retired into himself, he will be like a celestial spirit, that has a halo around his, within whose circle no grief or folly ventures.”
>> page #019/202

images-1

4.)
“Thus strangely are our souls constructed, and by such ligaments are we bound to prosperity or ruin.”
>> page #030/202

5.)
“I was like the Arabian who had been buried with the dead and found a passage to life, aided only by one glimmering and seemingly ineffectual light.”
>> page #041/202

2md3pcm.jpg

6.)
“…when falsehood can look so like the truth, who can assure themselves of certain happiness?.”
>> page #079/202

7.)
“The wounded deer dragging its fainting limbs to some untrodden brake, there to gaze upon the arrow which had pierced it, and to die – was but a type of me.”
>> page #080/202

8.)
“If our impulses were confined to hunger, thirst, and desire, we might be nearly free; but now we are moved by every wind that blows and a chance word or scene that that word may convey to us.”
>> page #084/202

9.)
“We rest; a dream has power to poison sleep.
We rise; one wand’ring thought pollutes the day.
We feel, conceive, or reason; laugh or weep,
Embrace fond woe, or cast our cares away;
It is the same: for, be it joy or sorrow,
The path of its departure still is free.
Man’s yesterday may ne’er be like his morrow;
Nought may endure but mutability!”
>> page #084/202

10.)
“But I am a blasted tree; the bolt has entered my soul…”
>> page #144/202

Annex - Karloff, Boris (Bride of Frankenstein, The)_06.jpg

11.)
“For an instant I dared to shake off my chains, and look around me with a free and lofty spirit; but the iron had eaten into my flesh, and I sank again, trembling and hopeless, into my miserable self.”
>> page #144/202

12.)
“The agonies of remorse poison the luxury there is otherwise sometimes found in indulging the excess of grief.”
>> page #171/202

mad-scientist.jpeg

13.)
“Even where the affections are not strongly moved by any superior excellence, the companions of our childhood always possess a certain power over our minds, which hardly any later friend can obtain.”
>> page #190/202

14.)
“Oh! be men, or be more than men. Be steady to your purposes, and firm as a rock. This ice is not made of such stuff as your hearts may be; it is mutable, and cannot withstand you, if you say that it shall not.”
>> page #193/202

I very much (and sincerely) hope that you have been taken into her way of writing (if you haven’t already read the CLASSIC). I will let you know that when I began hovering over the pages, and then reading the book, I had a wonderful experience initially; but as much as I got into the story, I began feeling the pain – the pain of losing her, then him, then the next one and so on and so forth… Frankly telling (you), I was (I still am) very much passionate about the art of her usage of words for the most appealing expressions, but putting myself as a gentle creature, I always expected a bit more of happiness in the next page, sorry for science did not let me get that ever (and the ‘fiend’ too).
But, above and after all, the CLASSIC is one of the most preferables; I shall endeavour, someday, again to dip myself into the beautiful (yet frightful) tale of the ‘creator’ and his ‘creature’.

Rest In Peace William, Justine, Henry, Elizabeth, and all…
…you too ‘wretch’ !

* image source: internet

